Inspiration vs. Intimidation

I am in a place in my life where I know exactly who I am and exactly how I want to live my life. I want to lead a life full of positivity, compassion and inspiration: whether that be to myself or towards others. I want to try my very best to be a better person each and every day.

Growing up, I was shy, quiet and simply moved with the flow that we call life. I certainly worked hard at my schooling, work and athletics but I never really knew who I was. Pretty girls made me nervous, smart girls made me self-aware, and the confident girls scared me senseless. I was always timid towards them because I had wished that I had myself figured out, like they seemed to already have done.

I knew that if I got into stellar shape, I would boost my self-esteem along with my confidence. Genetics had blessed me with a slender frame, but I wanted the muscles and toned physique that some girls dreamed to have. I knew that doing that for myself would give me goals, newfound positivity and happiness that everyone needs and yearns for.

When I first started learning about healthy living and fitness regimens, I became aware of the people around me who were already submerged in this lifestyle. The people I had met and known of intimidated me from head to toe. I now know that these were not the people I should have been looking to for guidance, and I should not have considered them as examples of how to achieve the life I wanted. These people were condescending, harsh, and were the epitome of intimidation and led me to quickly run in the other direction of what I wanted, because of how they made me feel.

I did not want to be picked on or judged, and I certainly refused to do that to people trying to accomplish the same things that I was.

Fast forward a couple of years from the exact moment that I gave up. I met my now-fiancé, who completely changed my outlook on what I had thought I knew about people who were doing the same things that I wanted to be doing. He brought me to the gym and introduced me to the most inspiring and motivating people that I had ever met. I learned that there were people, whether beginners or professionals, that were so very different than the people that I had come to associate with fitness. Meeting these people and having the extra boost of support, I finally made that change for myself. I was finally inspired enough to push myself towards my goals I wanted to achieve and the lifestyle I wanted maintain.

I then gave myself the positivity, happiness, compassion, and the self-acceptance that I had been in search of. Having that one person to open my eyes and help guide me in the right direction was all that I had needed. Once I was happy with myself, I could be happy with everything else. It was the first time that I had felt that I was in the right place in my life and ever since then, I was finally comfortable being who I was.

If I could do one thing in my life, it would be t0 inspire just one person to push towards their goals and to find their happiness. I would want to motivate any person that I could, and also help to guide them to a happy, healthy, and peaceful place. I would only want the chance to do the things for someone, that my fiancé did to help me.

One thought on “Inspiration vs. Intimidation

Leave a Reply

